Life Is What Happens To You While You’re Busy Making Other Plans….

Credit John Lennon and the movie Mr. Holland’s Opus with that post title. But somehow it seems apropos, even in Second Life.

It seems the Spira Enterprise project is taking a new turn. As a result of discussions last night, we are de-emphasizing the “strip club” aspects of the Cutlass Club and turning it into more of a general dance club. We hope to include aspects of a restaurant into the new design as well. In my mind, this is a desirable turn of events, for one big reason: the clientele we would attract. The kind of people that frequent the strip clubs and sex clubs of SL are people I don’t really want to hang around…boorish, ill-mannered, treating the employees there like objects rather than people. The crowd we’ve been attracting so far, with our live DJ shows, has been higher-quality than that, the kind of people I enjoy having around, for the most part. And that’s the whole point, even if we never net Linden One: to have a space where we can be comfortable and happy, and our friends can be comfortable and happy. (Mamba called our club “the best club in SL” last night. I’d like to think he’s right.)

We had originally intended the Highwayman to become the restaurant phase of the project, but, for reasons which have been amply documented by Danielle, that parcel will be cleared off and sold. C’est la vie. I may not understand the reasoning behind what has happened, but I have to respect the fact that it has happened, and that events will now proceed from that point. (I am going to be accumulating a buttload of surplus equipment here. Anyone want to buy some stripper poles, sex-ball furniture, etc.?)

Atop all that, there is planning to continue for the memorial service for Chris on Saturday, and for a couple of other immediate-future personal happenings which I will not get into here. And, in RL, I am coordinating the shipping of the EMinds server to its new home in Winnipeg, working closely with Kevin, our new hosting support person.

This entry is getting entirely too diary-like for my tastes. I’ll bring it back around to the philosophical by mentioning something I heard today…these days, I’ve been keeping the XM tuner in my car tuned to the “BPM” dance channel (XM 81), to help keep me in a “club DJ” frame of mind. Well, this morning, they played a dance mix of the song “Pure Imagination” from the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory movie, and it occurs to me that the song is a perfect reflection of Second Life as well. Herewith, to close, I reprint the lyrics (by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley):

Hold your breath…Make a wish…Count to three…

Come with me and you’ll be
In a world of pure imagination,
Take a look and you’ll see
Into your imagination…

We’ll begin with a spin
Trav’ling in the world of my creation,
What we’ll see will defy
Explanation…

If you want to view Paradise,
Simply look around and view it,
Anything you want to, do it,
Want to change the world? There’s nothing to it…

There is no life I know
To compare with pure imagination,
Living there, you’ll be free,
If you truly wish to be.

1 Comment

Filed under Business, Philosophy

One response to “Life Is What Happens To You While You’re Busy Making Other Plans….

  1. Ah, yes, I recall reading this post, but I didn’t recall it at the time of writing this. I do have to say it is a wonderful representation of SL. My two choices were a view of both sides of SL. “Second Skin” is representative of taking a step “down” from the seriousness of reality into a world where you can truly be you. I chose “Who Needs Sleep?” because, when I first joined SL, I wondered how anyone could spend a vast amount of time in-world. But then I found myself staying up later and later to stay and visit with the friends, such as yourself, that I’ve made through SL. Now it’s at a point that when I can get on, I have to force myself to go to sleep for a few hours.

    I really wish I could have uploaded the songs to the server, so you could listen to them. It really makes a difference, especially with “Second Skin,” than just reading the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

