Remarks at the Memorial Service of Chris Ellsworth

These remarks were what I had to say at the memorial service for Chris Ellsworth, August 5, 2006, at Darkwood Cathedral. The above image is of me delivering these remarks.

I’d like to thank you all for coming today. I’m sure Chris would have appreciated seeing so many of his friends come together like this, to celebrate his life.

I knew Chris primarily through Danielle, who informed me that Chris was her brother. So I found I’d gained a brother-in-law, so to speak. 🙂 But Chris was worthy of that designation; he was a good man.

He was a gifted designer of T-shirts, and wanted to place a vendor in our club. We agreed to a deal; he would get the vendor space for free, in return for DJing for us for free. Danielle even came up with the perfect name for him: “DJ Cabana Boy.” I so looked forward to helping him get set up so he could join the rotation. Sadly, he never spun a track.

We actually did a photo shoot for his T-shirts, with Danielle acting as the model. Chris stepped in to model some of his own shirts when Danielle was having trouble with the textures rezzing on some of them. He was very gracious about it, and even gave me a folder full of his shirts when he was done…a gift worth far more than what I’d spent on the photos themselves.

A wise man once wrote, “Nobody ever really dies…they just leave here.” So, I suppose, in a sense, Chris isn’t really dead; he just isn’t here. But, Chris…

How I wish, how I wish you were here,
We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year,
Running over the same old ground,
What have we found? The same old fears…
Wish you were here.

2 Comments

Filed under Current Events, People, Philosophy

2 responses to “Remarks at the Memorial Service of Chris Ellsworth

  1. Loved the use of Pink Floyd. 🙂

  2. It is rather apropos, isn’t it? Seeing as how the original was written for Syd Barrett, who also just recently passed…

    I hope Chris appreciated it, wherever he may be.

Leave a Reply

