Lindenspotting

The Lindens. You’ve all heard of them; they’re the folks who built Second Life and keep it running so we all have our world in which to build, chat, script, shop, dance, and generally have a good time. And they sometimes visit it themselves…but they can be deucedly hard to find when they do.

In my two-and-a-half months in SL, I’ve laid eyes on maybe four or five Lindens. Granted, I’m never on during the working hours when (presumably) more of them come in, because those are my working hours, too. (And I don’t have any machines at work under my control that could run Second Life…and my boss would probably eviscerate me for trying. Heck, he throws shit-fits just at seeing a Web browser open on my screen to something like GMail, EMinds, or whatever…)

The one I spot most often seems to be Teeple, who, I gather, is a big friend of The Shelter. I’ve seen him show up during the pool party a couple of times (and once spend some time kicking back with Travis in the pool), and he seems to like to peek in on the weekly formal (AKA the “Isabel sim stress-test”) to see all the attendees in their finery. That’s where I captured this snapshot of him, for instance. Aside from him, I was once at an author appearance in-world, sponsored in part by the Science Fiction Rangers, where Pathfinder showed up, and I’ve glimpsed one or two others around the Welcome Area at Ahern, back when I used to bounce over there more frequently.

And then, of course, there’s Torley, with whom I actually corresponded over on her blog before we met in-world. That meeting was facilitated by Mera Pixel, who, a couple of days before the SL Third Birthday event, offered me a TP over to the area with the Vault. And there she was…with her synth slung over her back and her cat Molyenka draped across her front. We both gushed; I said, “Torley! How nice to finally meet you in person!”, and she said, “ERBO!!!!!!!!” Boy, did that make me feel welcome! 🙂 The picture at left, taken from Torley’s Flickr gallery, is photographic evidence of that meeting. I have highlighted our relative positions. (Original here.) Other high-powered people were there, too, but I didn’t speak to any of them at length…

Danielle has been jealous of the few Linden’s I’ve managed to spot. But just recently, she stole a march on me, by meeting, not just any Linden, but the Head Linden Hisself! Seems Phillip decided to drop in on The Shelter, and, thanks to some good fortune and a timely IM to the Shelter group channel by Reina Quine, Danielle was standing face to face with the in-world presence of Linden Labs’ CEO. (Who, from appearences in the photo accomanying her blog post, is much shorter than I’d expected.)

What would I have said to Phillip if I’d been there? Probably a big, heartfelt “Thank you,” for one thing. After all, had it not been for his initial vision, there would be no SL. And I suppose I’d say the same to any of the developers I managed to spot. (Besides that, I’d want to pump them for info about the architecture and the setup of the servers. I have a professional interest in clustered systems.) Keep this in mind next time you’re inclined to curse the Lindens out for some bug, or crash, or untimely sim restart…you should probably thank them instead.

3 Comments

Filed under Celebrity

3 responses to “Lindenspotting

  1. And yes I am still gushing over that one!! Steal your thunder? Yes I did!!

  2. Lindedspotting is easy. Maybe being a celebrity helps. LOL

    (sorry, couldn’t resist)

  3. I’m not even gonna go into how that comment explicitly contradicts this post, Mera. 🙂 But that’s a topic I plan to return to at a later date.

Leave a Reply

