Disaster!

I was over at the Cutlass Club helping them fix their music changer when I got a call from Danielle…her house burned down. As a result, she’s cut off from SL for a while, possibly indefinitely. While there is Internet at the hotel she’s at at the moment, one of her computers is almost certainly destroyed, along with many of their worldly possessions, and the other one is of unknown status.

From an objective point of view, I can handle things with the club and so forth for the moment…this is not much different from when she was in the hospital for a week. But all my problems seem to pale before the problems she and her RL family are going through right this minute. I hope they’ll be all right, and Pamela and I will be doing what we can to help.

Expressions of sympathy are welcomed…I imagine I’ll be talking to her regularly, so she’ll get them even if she is out of touch.

What a way to end my birthday, though.

4 Comments

Filed under First Life

4 responses to “Disaster!

  1. Erbo, Please tell Dani that I am sorry to hear about the fire in her RL. I know she had taken some photus of me for a shoot in SL. I hope that she is able to recover the computers at least on of them. Let her know Also if she is wanting to talk with me she can do so. I will email her and you personally later. Till I see you in world, happy belated birthday and well wishes to you and pamand Dani and her family0Shaunny

  2. Erbo, Please tell Dani that I am sorry to hear about the fire in her RL. I know she had taken some photus of me for a shoot in SL. I hope that she is able to recover the computers at least on of them. Let her know Also if she is wanting to talk with me she can do so. I will email her and you personally later. Till I see you in world, happy belated birthday and well wishes to you and pamand Dani and her family-Shaunny

  3. I am so sorry to hear about this too. 😦 That is an awful tragedy. While thank goodness she is safe, in situations like this, I always think of not just the loss of material possessions, but the emotional resonance and attachments to irreplaceable memories contained within… including photos on computers.

    Please pass this message onto Dani for me too, Erbo.

    Happy belated birthday, altho this is understandably an anxious time. *huggerz*

  4. I’m really sad to hear this, I’ve always been paranoid about fires, Iv’e had friends who have had this happen to them.

    I know how long it can take to get over the emotional distress, and it’s also the loss of documents that you don’t realize that you have or need.
    Photos, school reports, books , and these days it’s your PCs.

    On the other hand a HD can be quite robust, and should be able to survive impacts and smoke and heat except when it’s actually been burnt on the plastic.

    Lots of love from me Dani!!

    Belated happy Birthday Erbo.

Leave a Reply

