We’re Movin’ On Up

Alexander Lapointe is thrilled because he’s got 1,000 hits on his blog. Well, as of this point, I’m just short of 2,000…and that’s just on the WordPress incarnation of Evans Avenue Exit. Trouble is, I don’t know whether to be thrilled or terrified.

WordPress offers lots of interesting blog statistics, which I spend a minute here and there looking at. Among those are a list of referrer sites on a daily basis. I get a lot of refers from the old Blogger site, of course, and from World of SL, but also from various other blogs: Dolmere’s, Patience’s, Mera’s, Danielle’s, Shai’s, SLI…even Jackal Ennui has referenced me, heaven knows why, though I do think she makes some awesome products. And I keep getting refers from Bloglines.com that I can’t figure out…

The page of “Search Engine Refers” is more interesting. People have stumbled across this blog looking for references to the Royksopp song “Remind Me,” to the phrase “Novus ordo seclorum” (it’s on the U.S. dollar bill), the line “We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams” (from the original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, the one with Gene Wilder) and the lyric “Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans” (it’s from John Lennon’s “Beautiful Boy,” best used, IMHO, in the movie Mr. Holland’s Opus). Those I’ve all used as post titles, so it’s easy to see why they get Googlejuice. But people are also getting here by explicitly searching for “Erbo Evans” and “Evans Avenue Exit” now…and I get a few searches such as for “dj cabana boy” (what would have been Chris Ellsworth’s DJ name, God rest his soul) “‘george linden’ ‘second life'” (I’ve dealt with him a couple of times, he’s a nice guy), and “gwynnie boffin” (nice lady! I haven’t seen her in quite some time).

A quick Google for “Erbo” reveals that the first page of search results are now coming up as follows:

  1. Some German company that makes clothing for motorcyclists (OK, that’s not my fault 🙂 )
  2. My profile on Everything2 (a Wiki-like site)
  3. Electric Minds (probably the most prominent thing I’ve ever worked on, Internet-wise)
  4. My profile on Slashdot
  5. Evans Avenue Exit itself
  6. The “About Erbo” page, also on Evans Avenue Exit
  7. The Wikipedia profile of Erbo Graf von Kageneck, a German Luftwaffe pilot in World War II (hmm, didn’t know about that one…)
  8. The Swiss home page for “The Erbo Group” (seems to be related to that motorcycle gear company up at the top of the results)
  9. My profile on Advogato.org (which isn’t even running anymore)
  10. An IMDB page about some Soviet film from 1972

So, gradually, my Second Life seems to have moved into the same sort of Google prominence as my First Life…

I’m not sure what else I need to do to keep EAE properly exposed in the SL blogosphere…my guess is I needn’t worry about it too much.

“It’s tough to handle all this fortune and fame, everybody’s so different, I haven’t changed” – Joe Walsh, “Life’s Been Good”

6 Comments

Filed under Meta

6 responses to “We’re Movin’ On Up

  1. Jackal Ennui

    I’m always on the look-out for interesting SL blogs and yours caught my eye .. hence the link 🙂

  2. Pingback: MeraTalk - The Purpleness that is Mera Pixel » Stats Prove Anything

  3. Erbs – awesome use of an awesome quote from an awesome song. Did I overuse the word “an” in that sentence?
    “It’s tough to handle all this fortune and fame, everybody’s so different, I haven’t changed” – Joe Walsh, “Life’s Been Good”

  4. Why, thank you, Dolmere. I’ve had some practice. Submitted as evidence: the topic on EMinds where I chronicled my explorations of SL before the advent of Evans Avenue Exit and my Snapzilla gallery. (Your “cousin” Akela has commented on my use of song lyrics there…)

  5. You were a movie star in the USSR?

  6. No, somehow my name is actually part of the movie title: “Qila erbo” (literally, “oil jug”). According to IMDB, it’s an animated movie in Georgian; go figure.

Leave a Reply

