No, I Haven’t Dropped Off The Face of the Grid

Kickin’ It at the Evans Compound

There have been many twists and turns in my Second Life of late, which will probably be of interest to very few, but which I offer up here by way of explanation for the lack of new content at this address.  Some of this, Danielle has already written about, so you can consult with her for corroboration.

First of all, Danielle and I are officially no longer partnered…”divorced,” if you will. While a sad occurrence, it’s more a reflection of the fact that we wanted to give each other the space we needed–her to find other playmates, and me for my other projects.  She lost no time, though; she is now engaged to Shawn Triskaidekaphobia, Head Manager at the Gin Rummy, and will have a wedding ceremony in-world this Saturday.  I’ll be walking her down the aisle to give her away; that somehow seems appropriate.

This is not to say that I am currently engaged in the hunt for “the next ex-Mrs. Evans,” though.  Far from it; I simply don’t have time, for one thing.  I’m presently engaged in a new project out-of-world which I’m spending as much time on as I can eke out of other things, including SL.  While I can’t divulge details, I will say that it involves Windows software development…a field I’ve been away from for 6 years or so prior to this.  But it’s coming back to me, especially with a fresh copy of Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 to work with.

Which is not to say I’m abandoning SL, either.  I am still partner in the Gin Rummy operation, and I continue to keep things up there, including DJ’ing there as scheduled.  DJ CoolJ has a couple of other gigs, too, at Black Diamond (usually 10-midnight, whenever Chelle decides to schedule me in), and, most recently, at Club Incircle (6-8 PM on Saturdays).  And I have my own “groupies” now, too…just look for “DJ CoolJ’s Groupies & Friends” in Groups.  And the Evans Family Compound in Aphrodisia still stands; I don’t want to give up that property, it’s too nice. (I have rented out the guest house, though, to a couple of our GR employees who needed a place to live.)

And, hopefully, I’ll have some more insightful commentary up here soon, on this strange and wonderful, if not always reliable, Grid of ours…population five million strong and growing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events, First Life

Leave a Reply

